Dog Farts

I have wanted a dog my entire 32 (nearly 33!) years on this planet. For a million reasons I was never able to get one. I am SUCH a dog person. I finally decided (and told my husband – in NO uncertain terms) that my terms were this: I will be getting a dog when we own our own home and all of my children are out of diapers.

So, while living with my mother (in her basement, (because: toxic mold) we were so very grateful {and super cramped}) the babiest of the Griders was begging (and begging and begging and beggingto “use the potty” and “wear unnie-pants” (yes, it is as cute as you can possibly imagine) like her big sister. Repetedly. Add this to the fact that the (nearly) five year old cloth diapers started to leak on a regular basis…so I decided that since I was dealing with wet pants anyway that I might as well try (for the third time since Kathryn was 18 months of age) to potty train her. She magically got potty trained in about 4 days! Hooray. And just a few weeks later we settled on our first home.

I then decided that the house needed to be unpacked and the few non negotiable things that needed to be taken care of in the new home and then I could adopt a dog. (We had an external door that was broken, and an HVAC system that decided to crap the FUCK out before the ink was dry on our first-time-home-buyer settlement papers). We moved in July 22nd (after a crazy, no-holds-barred weekend of “dear god we must wash every wall, scrub every counter top, scourge every toilet, sudt every baseboard, have every. single. carpet, stair and hallway professionally cleaned, every air duct professionally cleaned so that every single particle of duct was removed, and painted every. single. wall. in. the. entire. house   – in under 48 hours.”   –   I would like to point out that I fucking rule, goddamnit, and I got all this shit done WITH TWO SMALL CHILDREN most of the time (must give a shout out to the Duffy/Orem clan for taking the Grider Girls for 12 of these daytime hours — I am so grateful for the people that helped me succeed in my goals.) 😛  )

So I got all of that completed. I needed the big things in my “first time homeowner list” completed before I added more to my life. Then I went to the local “pound”. Honestly, I swear and agree with my hand on whatever you believe in – that they are amazing. They have fantastic guidelines – which ensure that animals that are adopted from their facilities end up living in homes where they will stay and not be kicked to the curb over a small slight. I respect and understand that as an animal health care professional. As a previous emergency and general practice veterinary technician I completely understand the need for people who ‘get’ the importance and responsibilities that are involved with being a pet owner.

But, as a person who really, really wanted a dog (for the first time in 32 years) there were other things that were frustrating.

We looked at a total of seven dogs.

Yes, you read that correctly.

Seven.

My entire family came to see three of them. (They have this guideline that your entire family needs to be present and meet the new family member. Really, I do agree with this. It just gets hard on the fifth or sixth time, that’s all…..)

It was such a (fucking annoying goodamned long) process.

I just WANT A DOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOG, I’ve been waiting soooooo LOOOOOOOOOOOOONG.

(Yes, shut the fuck up. I know I sound like a goddamned six year old. I don’t care. I felt like a six year old who was STILL BEING denied something that she was really, really, really desiring. And deserved. And could HANDLE. And…and….and….and………where’s my puppy….?)

And we finally got approved to keep a gorgeous, chill, sweet, perfect dog. She was just over one years of age, spayed, vaccinated, microchipped and her adoption fee was EVEN prepaid! (I did not know this until we’d already decided to bring her home – I swear!)

She came home mid-August. We renamed her Juno. (Her previous name was Sasha – uck. Who names a doggy Sasha?!!) And she had such a rough life previously. She’d been a stray that had been adopted from the same pound with a new family with kids – for a whole week. I adore her. I love her. I want to be the best (doggy/step/biological) mother ever.

And I am getting there.

We’ve worked so long with her and her behavioral problems (she’s got super separation anxiety – because of course I would adopt a dog that will bloody her nose if I leave her in her crate for more than 30 minutes….) and she’s acclimating to our family nicely.

I adore this dog. She snuggles with me in bed.

When I cry over the fact that my mental health is deteriorating (fodder for another post) she licks my tears.

She curls up at my feet when I’m watching the Gilmore Girls (YES I know I’m over a decade behind. Hush.)

And she farts.

I feel like “farts” is just so completely inadequate.

My husband and I choke in the miasma that emanates from the rear end of my adorable pup.

It’s beyond awful.

No, really.

I’m not exaggerating.

Seriously. One night a few weeks ago I woke up in the middle of the night – around 3am or so (this awful shit always happens sometime between 1:30 and 4am).

My master bedroom smelled like shit. Literally like shit. I woke up with the smell of poop in my mouth.

I then spent a good 20 – 30 minutes searching the upper level of my house for shit. I was wondering if my baby girl had shat her diaper, or if my first born had decided it would be a good idea to shit in our master bedroom and not flush (this is not an uncommon occurrence in my home, frankly). I searched the crate at the foot of my bed – maybe my new pup decided to cement how very much she hates that metal contraption in her owner’s brains.

No poop.

I was unable to locate the source of the shit smell that had been so incredibly fetid and rancid that it awoke me from a deep, dead sleep. (If you don’y know me personally then you do not understand how significant this is. I never, ever awake from sleep unless there’s a screaming child that my husband has not already attended to. Or occasionally I might be awoken because I need to projectile vomit (into — and by into I mean: somewhere around (and including the carpeted hallway leading to) or leading near the room in which the toilet is housed).

So, now that’s we’ve clarified the (very, very, very) few things that would wake me from a deep sleep – I went back to sleep. Once I was aware that my daughters were not sleeping in or rolling around in or I would not awake in a slimy squirt of poop early in the morning I decided to go (the fuck) back to (my favorite thing ever ever ever) sleep.

The next morning I said to my hubby: “DUDE. I woke up sometime during the night to what I swear was poop in our room.”

He informed me: “Yes. There was poop smell in our room. Our dog was farting,”

Farts? You mean the nasty, poop-in-my-mouth, wake me up from a dead sleep and search my house, smell was a 56 pound animal breaking wind?

Yes, he tells me. Repeatedly.

I think he’s full of shit.

But I feel as though I must tell those of you who are reading my (incredibly logical, honest, realistic) blog that during the 23ish minutes I’ve been typing up this I’ve been resisting the urge to vomit. Why, you ask?

Because of dog farts.

My beautiful, soft coated, sweet, kind, chill pup – she farts like she’s trying to kill someone who is attempting to drown her most recent litter of puppies.

Seriously. I wish I had “Parenting, Illustrated by Crappy Pictures” sitting next to me to demonstrate what it’s like to sit on my couch typing on my laptop in the general vicinity of my television….living in a cloud of death. There should be flies in the PigPen cloud that surrounds me. Flies. Flies that are dying mid-air because of the smell.

Oh, my. I love this pup. Really, I do.

But why the fuck did I choose a dog (who I swear I love, after thirty two years of waiting) who farts like a motherfucker – almost as though she wants to kill me.

I’m choking just writing this.

But she’s supremely beautiful and loving.

And smelly.

So. Fucking. Smelly.

Poop-smell-in-your-mouth-that-causes-you-to-wake-up-from-a-dead-sleep smelly.

However, seeing her completely covered in stickers (that my 2 year old placed on her only moments after my 5 year old finished attempting to ride her) just reminds me why I put up with the fucking god awful dog farts.

a

Dog farts.

I’m going to live with dog farts for the rest of my life, aren’t I?

It’s a good thing I drink a lot of wine…….

Leave a Reply

